Skip to main content
Media Releases

APRA announces 2010 research grant recipients

Tuesday 2 November 2010


The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) has today announced the recipients of the 2010 APRA Research Grant Program.

The Program aims to foster research on issues related to prudential regulation and prudentially regulated institutions, including banks, credit unions, building societies, general insurance and reinsurance companies, life insurers, friendly societies and superannuation funds. The grants are open to researchers and research institutions globally.

APRA is awarding the following single-year grants:

  • Bernardo da Veiga, Curtin University ($25,000) — A Critical Analysis of the Market Risk Regulatory Framework under Basel III;
  • Michael Skully, Monash University ($21,000) — Syndicated Lending and Tranching: Implications for APS 113; and
  • Sarath Delpachitra, Flinders University ($4,000) — Factors Influencing Wholesale Funding of Australian Financial Institutions: Implications for National Economy.

APRA received 34 applications and judged them on five criteria: relevance of project objectives to APRA; originality of research project; potential impact/importance of the research issue for APRA‑regulated industries; research qualifications and experience of project team members, in particular the chief investigator(s); and the publication record of the chief investigator(s) in the chosen field.

The Grant Program Guidelines are available on APRA's website.

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) is the prudential regulator of the financial services industry. It oversees banks, credit unions, building societies, general insurance and reinsurance companies, life insurance, private health insurers, friendly societies, and most members of the superannuation industry. APRA currently supervises institutions holding $6 trillion in assets for Australian depositors, policyholders and superannuation fund members.