Skip to main content

Foreign bank representative offices (not authorised deposit-taking institutions)

A foreign bank wishing to establish a representative office in Australia must obtain the written consent of APRA. Consent is required for a foreign bank to use the word 'bank' or its equivalent as part of the bank's corporate name in connection with maintaining a representative office.

Minimum entry standards must be met and the representative office must comply with certain operating conditions, set by APRA.

Charges to be paid by representative offices of foreign banks in Australia

List of foreign bank representative offices

There are 14 foreign banks with consent to maintain a representative office in Australia.

Updated: 27 April 2021

  • CaixaBank, S.A.
  • China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited
  • China Development Bank
  • Commerzbank AG
  • Credit Industriel et Commercial
  • CTBC Bank Co., Ltd.
  • DOHA Bank Q.S.C.
  • Global IME Bank Limited
  • Intesa Sanpaolo S.p.A.
  • Japan Bank for International Cooperation
  • National Bank of Greece SA
  • Sumitomo Mitsui Trust Bank, Limited
  • Taipei Fubon Commercial Bank Co., Limited
  • The Korea Development Bank
  • The People's Bank of China
  • Wells Fargo Bank, National Association

Guidelines for foreign bank representative offices

Last updated April 2018