Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

List of Authorised Deposit-taking Institutions

The institutions listed on this page are regulated by APRA in accordance with the Banking Act 1959. Under paragraph 22 of APS 330, the ADIs identified by (*) are required to make the disclosures for the identification of potential G-SIBs in Attachment H to APS 330.

This list was last updated on 21 April 2016

Australian-owned Banks

  • AMP Bank Ltd
  • Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited*
  • Australian Military Bank Ltd
  • Auswide Bank Ltd
  • Bank of Queensland Limited
  • Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia*
  • Community CPS Australia Limited (trading as Beyond Bank Australia)
  • Defence Bank Limited
  • Heritage Bank Limited
  • Hume Bank Limited
  • IMB Ltd (trading as IMB Bank)
  • Macquarie Bank Limited
  • mecu Limited (trading as Bank Australia)
  • Members Equity Bank Limited
  • MyState Bank Limited
  • National Australia Bank Limited*
  • Police Bank Ltd
  • Police Financial Services Limited (trading as BankVic)
  • Police & Nurses Limited (trading as P&N Bank)
  • QT Mutual Bank Limited
  • Qudos Mutual Ltd (trading as Qudos Bank)
  • Rural Bank Limited (a subsidiary of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited)
  • SGE Mutual Limited (trading as G&C Mutual Bank)
  • Suncorp-Metway Limited
  • Teachers Mutual Bank Limited
  • Victoria Teachers Limited (trading as Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank)
  • Westpac Banking Corporation*

Foreign Subsidiary Banks

  • Arab Bank Australia Limited
  • Bank of China (Australia) Limited
  • Bank of Sydney Ltd
  • Citigroup Pty Limited
  • HSBC Bank Australia Limited
  • ING Bank (Australia) Limited (trading as ING Direct)
  • Rabobank Australia Limited

Branches of Foreign Banks

  • Agricultural Bank of China Limited
  • Banco Santander, S.A.
  • Bank of America, National Association
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of China Limited
  • Bank of Communications Co., Ltd.
  • Barclays Bank PLC (trading as Barclays Capital)
  • BNP Paribas
  • BNP Paribas Securities Services
  • China Construction Bank Corporation
  • Citibank, N.A.
  • Cooperatieve Rabobank U.A. (trading as Rabobank)
  • Credit Suisse AG
  • DBS Bank Ltd
  • Deutsche Bank Aktiengessellschaft
  • E.SUN Commercial Bank, Ltd.
  • First Commercial Bank
  • Hua Nan Commercial Bank, Ltd
  • Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited
  • ING Bank N.V.
  • JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association
  • KEB HANA Bank
  • Mega International Commercial Bank Co., Ltd.
  • Mizuho Bank, Ltd.
  • Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Limited
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • State Bank of India
  • State Street Bank and Trust Company
  • Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • Taiwan Business Bank
  • Taiwan Cooperative Bank, Ltd
  • The Bank of New York Mellon
  • The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd
  • The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited
  • The Northern Trust Company
  • The Royal Bank of Scotland N.V.
  • The Royal Bank of Scotland plc
  • UBS AG
  • Union Bank of India
  • United Overseas Bank Limited
  • Woori Bank

Building Societies

  • B & E Ltd
  • Big Sky Building Society Limited
  • Greater Building Society Ltd
  • Maitland Mutual Building Society Limited
  • Newcastle Permanent Building Society Limited

Credit Unions

  • Australian Central Credit Union Ltd (trading as People's Choice Credit Union)
  • Bananacoast Community Credit Union Ltd
  • Bankstown City Credit Union Ltd
  • CAPE Credit Union Limited
  • Central Murray Credit Union Limited
  • Central West Credit Union Limited
  • Coastline Credit Union Limited
  • Community Alliance Credit Union Limited
  • Community First Credit Union Limited
  • Community Mutual Ltd
  • Credit Union Australia Ltd
  • Credit Union SA Ltd
  • Dnister Ukrainian Credit Co-operative Limited
  • ECU Australia Ltd
  • EECU Limited
  • Encompass Credit Union Limited
  • Family First Credit Union Limited
  • Fire Brigades Employees' Credit Union Limited
  • Fire Service Credit Union Limited
  • Firefighters & Affiliates Credit Co-operative Limited
  • First Choice Credit Union Ltd
  • First Option Credit Union Limited
  • Ford Co-operative Credit Society Limited
  • Gateway Credit Union Ltd
  • Goulburn Murray Credit Union Co-operative Limited
  • Heritage Isle Credit Union Limited
  • Holiday Coast Credit Union Ltd
  • Horizon Credit Union Ltd
  • Hunter United Employees' Credit Union Limited
  • Intech Credit Union Limited
  • Laboratories Credit Union Limited
  • Latvian Australian Credit Co-operative Society Limited
  • Lithuanian Co-operative Credit Society "Talka" Limited
  • Lysaght Credit Union Ltd
  • MacArthur Credit Union Ltd
  • Macquarie Credit Union Limited
  • Maritime, Mining & Power Credit Union Limited
  • MCU Ltd
  • My Credit Union Limited
  • Northern Inland Credit Union Limited
  • Nova Credit Union Limited
  • Orange Credit Union Limited
  • Police Credit Union Limited
  • Pulse Credit Union Limited
  • QPCU Limited
  • Quay Credit Union Ltd
  • Queensland Country Credit Union Limited
  • Queensland Professional Credit Union Ltd
  • Queenslanders Credit Union Limited
  • Railways Credit Union Limited (trading as myMOVE)
  • Select Credit Union Limited
  • South West Slopes Credit Union Ltd
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Ltd
  • South-West Credit Union Co-Operative Limited
  • Summerland Credit Union Limited
  • Sutherland Credit Union Ltd
  • Sydney Credit Union Ltd
  • The Broken Hill Community Credit Union Ltd
  • The Capricornian Ltd
  • The Gympie Credit Union Ltd
  • Traditional Credit Union Limited
  • TransComm Credit Co-operative Limited
  • Transport Mutual Credit Union Limited
  • Warwick Credit Union Ltd
  • WAW Credit Union Co-Operative Limited
  • Woolworths Employees' Credit Union Limited
  • Wyong Shire Credit Union Ltd

Other ADIs


One ADI that provides general banking services which does not fall into the above categories:

  • Cairns Penny Savings & Loans Limited

These companies provide services (e.g. payments clearing) to building societies and credit unions:

  • Australian Settlements Limited
  • Cuscal Limited
  • Indue Ltd

Providers of Purchased Payment Facilities

Authorised Non-Operating Holding Companies

(authorised under subsection 11AA(2) of the Banking Act 1959)