Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Brian Gray Scholarship Program

The Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) and the Reserve Bank of Australia have established the Brian Gray Scholarship program in memory of Brian Gray, who died on 24 August 2001 while serving as Executive General Manager of APRA’s Policy, Research and Consulting Division.

The Brian Gray Scholarship program will fund up to four scholarships annually, to the value of $15,000 each.

The scholarship purpose is to support students who intend to focus full time on their studies and research.

The recipients of the 2015 scholarship are:

  • Natalie Xiaowen Peng - PhD candidate (Accounting), University of Queensland;
  • Alan Liang Xian - Honours candidate, Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) in Actuarial Studies / Bachelor of Science in Statistics, University of New South Wales;
  • Gabriela Araujo - Honours candidate, Bachelor of Commerce (Finance) / Bachelor of Economics (Honours), University of Queensland.

As part of the scholarship, students will devote a substantial amount of time to an agreed research topic benefiting, where possible, from access to APRA expertise and data. The research paper may be that which you are preparing for your Honours or Post-graduate Thesis or project.

If you would like a copy of the published reports by the recipients of the 2014 scholarship please click here.

Who was Brian Gray?

Previous Brian Gray Scholarship Program winners and reports

The application process

Applications are to be submitted via the on-line application process. This will require you to complete an application form including academic details, work experience, extra-curricular activities, an outline of your proposed research and its relevance to APRA, and two written references. The written references will need to be attached to the application form and so you may need to scan hard copies for this process.

Who can apply?

The Brian Gray Scholarship is open to any Australian/New Zealand citizen or permanent resident, studying a topic of relevance to APRA. The focus will be on honours year students, although postgraduate students can apply.

Application closing date:

Should you be interested in applying for our 2016 program, applications open on 22 February 2016 and will close on 3 April 2016. Contact: Calli Farber on 

Click here for a copy of our brochure on current scholarship opportunities.